School Basics

About Jay R. Thompson Elementary 

Thompson Elementary opened in 1955 and is named in honor of Jay R. Thompson. Mr. Thompson came to Mesquite to teach civics and history at Mesquite High School in 1960. He served as assistant principal at Black Elementary and Range Elementary and interim principal of Hanby Elementary.  In 1966, he was named principal of Tosch Elementary, a job he held until his retirement in 1985. Mr. Thompson was a World War II veteran, a Pearl Harbor survivor, and exemplified true American patriotism. 

Thompson Elementary is home to 60 staff and support staff members.  We are a unique campus that serves the Creek Crossing area . We believe in loving our students into life-long learning.

Our Feeder Pattern

Our Principal

Bridget Mitchell is a devoted educator with an extensive portfolio of experiences. During her 20 years in Mesquite ISD, she has served as an ESL teacher at Floyd Elementary and assistant principal at Price and Hodges Elementary. Before coming to Mesquite ISD she served as a third grade, fourth grade, fifth grade and ESL teacher in other school districts.  

Mrs. Mitchell earned her bachelor’s from University of Oklahoma and later obtained her master’s of Education from Texas A&M University at Commerce and her master’s of Educational Administration from Lamar University. Mrs. Mitchell and her husband have a beautiful family consisting of three sons and two daughters.

bmitchell@mesquiteisd.org

Leadership Team

Keysha Smith
Assistant Principal
ksmith3@mesquiteisd.org

Tiffany Clayton
Counselor
tclayton@mesquiteisd.org

Angel Dace
Campus Intervention Specialist
adace@mesquiteisd.org

Erika Crayton-Brown
Librarian
ecrayton@mesquiteisd.org

Office Staff

Gabby Castilleja
Administrative Assistant
gcastilleja@mesquiteisd.org

Fran McLaughlin
Clerical Aide
fmclaughlin@mesquiteisd.org

Diane Scott
Clerical Aide
dscott2@mesquiteisd.org

Kevina Battle
Nurse
kbattle@mesquiteisd.org

 

Contact Us

Thompson Elementary School

2525 Helen Ln
Mesquite, TX 75181

Phone(972) 882-7190

Supply Lists

https://app.teacherlists.com/schools/63442-thompson-elementary-school

School Hours

Elementary School Day
7:55 a.m. – 3:05 p.m.

Elementary Early Release
12:25 p.m.

3-year-old Pre-K Morning Session 
7:45 a.m. – 10:55 a.m.

3-year-old Pre-K Afternoon Session
11:55 a.m. – 3:05 p.m.

4-year-old Full Day Pre-K
7:55 a.m. - 3:05 p.m.

 

School Health Advisory Council

Title 1 Information

Parent Right to Know - English

Parent Right to Know - Spanish

A copy of the Campus Improvement Plan is available for review in the school office upon request.